Female Competition Roster Released
Date of Event : Tue Oct 3, 2017 2:03PM

Today, Cricket North West is pleased to release the 2017/18 Crowe Horwath Female Competition roster, which features 13 rounds of T20 and One-Day cricket.  The season will commence on Sunday October 29, and conclude with the Grand Final on Sunday March 4. 


The Kookaburra Female Greater Northern Cup will dominate the first half of the season, with Cricket North West sides to be locked in battle with Cricket North opponents over 7 rounds of T20 cricket prior to the Christmas break. 


In a new initiative, the top four teams will contest the Kookaburra Female Greater Northern Cup Finals Day, to be played on Sunday December 17.  Two Semi-Finals and a Grand Final will be played on the same day, with the competition premiers to represent the Greater North in the Women’s Statewide T20 Grand Final.  South Launceston will enter this year’s competition as strong favourites, having won last season’s inaugural competition and representing the Greater North in the last two Statewide T20 Grand Finals.


After Christmas, the focus will return to local cricket, with all CNW teams to lock horns in the T20 and One-Day formats.  Three Saturday night Twilight T20 matches will be played in late-January and early-February, timed to coincide with the WBBL/BBL and allow for club events.  These matches provide a great opportunity for clubs and communities to get out and support female cricket.


The roster will conclude with a series of 40-over One-Day matches.  With double points on offer, these matches have the potential to turn the ladder upside down on the eve of the finals.  Our players also relish the opportunity to bat and bowl for longer periods. 


In another positive development, female players will have exclusive access to venues for 10 of the 13 rounds, meaning no more long waits to access change-rooms following men’s or boy’s games!  Female players will now have a great opportunity to take ownership of our facilities and feel comfortable within the club environment.  


A final highlight of the 2017/18 roster is a Senior Representative Match, with the Campbell’s Betta Home Living Cricket North West team to take on Cricket North in Launceston on Sunday January 28.  The Northerners have taken the honours in the last five representative matches, and CNW will be determined to achieve a positive result this season.   


Wynyard will enter the 2017/18 Crowe Horwath Female Competition as favourites, having claimed the last four premierships.  The Bluebelles will be motivated to create a new record, with no team in any grade in the competition’s history winning five consecutive premierships.  With a strong, stable playing group they will be hard to topple, but the Burnie Hurricanes, Latrobe and Ulverstone will be striving to do just that. 


The Demons have scored the big recruiting coup of the season, signing the competition’s first-ever overseas import, Megan Janman from English Premier League participant Ansty Cricket Club.  She will be a great addition to a young playing group boasting current Tasmanian Under-18 player Esther Magor and former state reps Zoe Lowry, Zoe Sharman and Sascha Lowry. 


“Cricket North West looks forward to the seventh season of the Crowe Horwath Female Competition. It will be exciting to see if Wynyard can create competition history with a fifth successive premiership, or if a new challenger will emerge” commented Cricket Tasmania Regional Administrator Nathan Dennis. 


“Our clubs are still actively recruiting, and welcome all new and returning players interested in participating in the Crowe Horwath Female Competition or Commonwealth Bank Girls Under-17 roster (starting on November 10).  Please visit to find your local Cricket North West club. We hope to see you out on the field in 2017/18” concluded Dennis.  


See below for a link to PDF versions of the Crowe Horwath Female Competition and Kookaburra Female Greater Northern Cup rosters.  The rosters are also available in MyCricket, via the "Match Centre" menu on the CNW website.


Crowe Horwath Female Competition Roster


Kookaburra Female Greater Northern Cup Roster


Last updated: Tuesday October 3, 2017 2:14PM

CNW Sponsors