Demons Crowned 1st Grade Premiers
Date of Event : Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:52PM

Congratulations to Latrobe Cricket Club, your 2017/18 Health Care Insurance 1st Grade Premiers!


After an inspection at 1.25 pm, the captains and umpires shook hands and abandoned the match, acknowledging that the wet run-ups and surrounds, along with the possibility of more rain, would prevent play from resuming on Day 3.


Latrobe were crowned premiers after they finished the roster series on top of the ladder. The Demons capped a successful season in which they qualified for the Sportspower Burnie 1st Grade T20 and RACT Greater Northern One-Day Cup Grand Finals too.


Devonport is to be congratulated on reaching their third Grand Final in four years, particularly given the players they lost at the end of last season. They also deserve a lot of praise for the assistance they rendered in attempting to dry out the ground today.


It is unfortunate that wet weather impacted on the Grand Final, as we were poised for an exciting conclusion. Devonport had been dismissed for 126 late on Day 1, with Clinton Moore (27), John Sales (22) and Miles Barnard (19) the leading scorers. Nathan Avery was the pick of the Latrobe bowlers with 4/34 from 24 overs, receiving great support from Tristan Weeks (3/28) and Dion Parsons (2/27). Callan Morse also provided a highlight in the field, dismissing Orions' batsman Matthew Bennett courtesy of a spectacular diving one-handed outfield catch.


Latrobe lost a wicket from the first ball of their innings late on Day 1, and reached 1/8 at stumps. Morning rain meant play did not resume again until 5.00 pm on Day 2, with the Demons advancing to 4/62. Trent Keep (25) and Joel Salter (22) were the home side's leading scorers, while Sam O'Mahony (2/17) and Chris Lindsay (2/20) were the Orions' successful bowlers.


Tristan Weeks (4 no) and Callan Morse (0 no) were set to resume at the crease on Day 3, with the Demons trailing by 65 runs with six wickets in hand. But mother nature intervened, and the last day's play was lost.


Latrobe secured its third premiership, following on from its previous success in 1973/74 and 2005/06. Dion Parsons, Nathan Avery and Callan Morse were the only current players remaining from the previous premiership team.


Demons veteran Nathan Avery was awarded the Trevor Docking Medal as the Player of the Match, recognised for his four-wicket haul on Day 1. Avery has had a fantastic season with the ball, taking over 20 wickets as a first or second-change option.

Congratulations are also in order for our match umpires David Hudson and Scott Pearce. David officiated in his eighth Grand Final, while Scott stood in his fifth consecutive decider.


We would also like to thank Jamie Gillam and Health Care Insurance for their support of this competition, curator Ray Read, groundsman Jason Sims, Latrobe Council and Latrobe Cricket Club for their support of this weekend's Grand Final.


Finally, thanks to all clubs, players, officials and volunteers for their efforts throughout the Health Care Insurance 1st Grade season. We hope to see you back in 2018/19!

Last updated: Sunday March 25, 2018 2:58PM

CNW Sponsors